Passions and Interests

Having recently graduated, I find myself often pondering my passions nowadays. And if I really even have one…I’ve never really been that person that had that ONE passion or that ONE thing that drives and motivates them. When I was applying to college in high school, there wasn’t really a school that I REALLY wanted to go to, but a bunch of schools that I felt I could be happy at. I find myself in a similar boat now. I have so many interests and I feel like I could be happy doing so many things.

I obviously have a huge interest in psychology, specifically counseling, healthcare, mental health, and substance abuse. I have a huge interest in feminism. I have always loved photography, and although it would be challenging, I would love to make photography a part time career choice on the side at some point in my life. I have a huge interest in travel and international education – if you know me, you know how badly I have wanderlust and how much traveling is a big part of who I am. I love traveling and exploring so much. I also love kids! Working in a preschool was one of the funnest things I did at Stony Brook. There are so many things that interest me and I find myself struggling knowing where to commit myself to – where to begin my career journey.

I recently had a job interview at a large travel company headquartered in Boston (I don’t want to say because I’m scared of jinxing it) and it would be amazing to begin my career journey there. I feel like it could lead to so many outstanding opportunities. During my interview, one of the woman that interviewed me said that one of the perks of working there was that there’s time to pursue all your interests and hobbies – she works a 9-5, but does photography and teaches yoga. Which sounds incredible! Too many people get lost in their careers, and it was comforting to know she has a successful life outside of her career.

So do I have a passion? I think so. Just more than one. And that’s okay! I might not have that exact one thing I was born to do, but I think maybe that’s even better. There are a lot of things that motivate me! And I hope somehow, I can intertwine more than one of those passions and keep my interests flowing as I decide how to begin my career and where my life takes me.

One thought on “Passions and Interests

Leave a Reply

